Social Media Sharing Made Easier

Social media sharing toolThis is a blog that centres around social media, so it goes without saying that I use social media networks quite a lot. In isolation, each network I use is fantastic in its own way. I mean, they all have their little quirks. Facebook is annoying, Twitter is sometimes a bit too simple, barely anybody is on Google+ and don’t get me started on Reddit (their link submission tool is a real pain to use sometimes).

So, social media is great. As a whole though, it can be a real pain. For instance, whenever I write a new post for this blog or the EmptyLemon blog, I then have to log into more than 15 social networks to share it. This is time well spent, owing to the SEO benefits of social media sharing and bookmarking, as well as the fact that I like to share content with my networks. Some people, sometimes, even find it useful!

There have been various browser plugins that I have used, for my Stumble Upon and Delicious accounts for example, but the best plugin I have come across is AddThis. It enables you to choose from tonnes of social networks and social bookmarking sites via a toolbar in your browser, which looks like this:

Share content via multiple social media channels

I am currently using it to share content on the following sites:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter (in additon to Tweetdeck)
  • Google bookmarks (make lists public for extra traffic)
  • Digg
  • Delicious
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Fark
  • Linkedin
  • Newsvine
  • Friendfeed
  • Bitly

It takes the stress out of sharing. Download AddThis for your browser now, even if you’re just using Facebook, Twitter and Linkedin you will find it useful. Tweetdeck was my usual way of sharing via these main accounts, but the Tweetdeck is a big app to constantly have running in the background.

I hope you find it as useful as I have, plus if you write a blog then you should seriously consider setting accounts up for the above networks if you haven’t already. You can find more useful tools here.

About onlineastevens

Dad. Marketing Manager. Pie eater. Man City fan. Former Isle of Man resident. Professionally amateur guitarist.

Posted on August 24, 2011, in Blogging, Facebook, Linkedin, Twitter, Useful tools and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love how dedicated you are to trying new things and then sharing your findings with us! Thank you! It helps those of us (i.e. me) who find all the new technology rather overwhelming!

Join the conversation

