What’ll kill off Twitter?

I’ve purposely waited a bit to post this, as I didn’t want people to think I was posting to benefit from adding keywords surrounding recent events to improve search rankings (like Mashable did). It’s taken from a Google+ post I put up a few days ago.

So, is it going to be the death of a celebrity, a catastrophic event or the airing of a popular tv show that spells the end of Twitter?

I really love Twitter. To be honest though, whenever one of the three types of events above occurs, I turn my back on it until everyone gets off their soapbox.

Facebook is the same. Status updates like “Who gives a f*ck about some crackhead when so many people are suffering in Norway” make me want to just delete my account altogether. The other side of the fence is just as annoying, “This is the worst thing to happen to music since the death of John Lennon”. Oh please. It’s devastating, but Lennon changed the shape of pop and rock music as part of the most influential band the world has ever seen.

This is where Google+ steps up to the plate. If that kind of newsfeed hogging goes on, I can just create a new circle, for example “People likely to get out their soap box or commentate every episode of the apprentice”. Dump them in there and hide them from my stream whenever something kicks off.

There will be a point, when Google+ really hits the mainstream, where many people will look at their Twitter feeds during a Big Brother final and say “You know what, I can’t be arsed with this”, close their Twitter account and then post an update on Google+ along the lines of “I did it. My Twitter account is no more”. It’ll be like the Old Yeller rabies scene…

About onlineastevens

Dad. Marketing Manager. Pie eater. Man City fan. Former Isle of Man resident. Professionally amateur guitarist.

Posted on July 28, 2011, in Twitter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I have wanted to do this myself on occasions. Maybe Twitter could adapt their lists function to be more like circles?

  2. Very true, and I know just what circle I will be in!

Join the conversation

